This website does not support older versions of InternetExplorer.

Please upgrade your browser with the latest version of Firefox, Chrome, or InternetExplorer.

(Close Window)
Website Accessibility
News & Topics in Our Community

Get Engaged: Disability Vote 2018 Free Webinars

September 19, 2018

The DOnetwork is partnering with the REV UP Campaign and respected electoral campaign professionals to bring you engaging webinars on voting during this 2018 midterm election season.  Check out these webinars below and CLICK HERE to register in advance.
 
Access Barriers to Voter Education
Presented by National Council on Independent Living & Center for Disability Empowerment
September 21, 2018
11:00 a.m. PT
1:00 p.m. CT
2:00 p.m. ET
Join this collaborative webinar hosted by the DOnetwork and the REV UP Campaign to learn more about barriers to accessing election information, including information on candidates and the issues. The webinar will explore how political campaigns, hosts of candidate forums, and election officials can make their materials and information more accessible to people with disabilities. Webinar presenters include the National Council on Independent Living and the Center for Disability Empowerment.

 
Polling and Research on Senior and Disabled Voters for the 2018 Election
Presented by Celinda Lake, Lake Research Partners
September 24, 2018
12:00 p.m. PT
2:00 p.m. CT
3:00 p.m. ET
Celinda Lake, President of Lake Research Partners, will be sharing findings around voters with disabilities and seniors as an important segment of the electorate. It is clear that in this political moment it is vital to engage every demographic and understanding their voting patterns is necessary to do this well. People with disabilities and seniors must be well represented in the U.S. political system in order to have a representative democracy. Seniors and people with disabilities are beginning to engage in patterns of voting more Democratically in recent years and it is important to know how to engage their politics and discuss which issues are important to them. Her talk will focus on publicly available polling, as well as her own insight into these demographics - including the generic congressional ballot, President Trump's job approval, and voting in the 2018 election.

 
Breaking Barriers to Voting
Presented by Zach Baldwin (AAPD), Kristina Majewski (Disability Rights DC), Maggie Knowles (Protection & Advocacy for People with Disabilities - South Carolina), Esther Harlow (Disability Rights Oregon), Mark Leaman (Disability Rights Iowa)
October 18, 2018
10:00 a.m. PT
12:00 p.m. CT
1:00 p.m. ET
The webinar will explore polling place accessibility, poll worker training, how to navigate voting barriers, vote by mail accessibility, and knowing your rights as a disabled voter. Participants will also have a chance to ask questions. Webinar presenters include Disability Rights DC, Protection & Advocacy for People with Disabilities (South Carolina), Disability Rights Oregon, and Disability Rights Iowa.

 
The REV UP Campaign, launched by the American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD) in 2016, is a nonpartisan initiative that coordinates with national, state, and local disability organizations to increase the political power of the disability community while also engaging candidates and the media on disability issues. The Campaign focuses on voter registration, education, access, and engagement. REV UP stands for Register! Educate! Vote! Use your Power! Learn more at www.aapd.com/REVUP.
 

View All News & Topics Read More at Article Source

Welcome to the Disability Organizing Network (DOnetwork) website! The DOnetwork calls to action the California Disability Communities and allies, through community organizing, advocacy, education, leadership development and coalition building to effect systems change in local, state and national issues.

The CFILC Disability Organizing Network is a statewide disability advocacy network of 28 Independent Living Centers and the communities they serve. In each center there is a full time staff person devoted to increasing civic participation through community organizing, education and advocacy around issues that affect the Disability Communities.